Hyperbarric Oxygen Therapy for PSP

Moderators: cstokes, Moderator

Hyperbarric Oxygen Therapy for PSP

Postby nyl777 » Wed Mar 31, 2004 6:52 am

::::::::posted with consent from patient's wife::::::::

<font color="green"><b>I am a Physical Therapist here in the Philippines. I have a patient diagnosed to have PSP just last year. He has been diagnosed at first with PD four years ago. Although, he is dependent in all aspects of activities of daily living at this time. My patient was able to walk unassisted December of 2002. He underwent HYPERBARRIC OXYGEN
Therapy for 1 hour, 20 minutes, 20 feet depth, five times a week last November of 2002. He also had Intravenous injection of Glutathion 1450 mg(7 ml) mix with 13 ml of saline sol. This was administered 3 times a week. He had alternate OT and PT sessions 5 times a week. Prior to this treatment my patient was not able to walk unassisted and could not talk and had difficulty swallowing. After just a month of the above therapy patient was able to walk alone and although a bit slurred he was able to talk. The Hyperbarric Oxygen Therapy was stopped after about 4 mos. Then after a month without Hyperbarric Oxygen Therapy patient developed aspiration pneumonia. He was hospitalized and his condition deteriorated. He could not talk, could not swallow, could not walk..... He underwent gastrostomy then. He also had cystostomy.
He never received Hyperbarric again and his condition now is similar to that of stage four with some stage three symptoms.... The patient at this time is just receiving oxygen from an Oxygen tank <4 liters/min for 2 hours per day> since Hyperbarric Oxygen Therapy is not yet available in our area. He is also given trivastal and sinemet and an anti-oxidant with a brand name Ambrotose AO.